Week #4 – Freddy the Fox – Stars of the Forest QAL for a Cause 2020

It’s week #4 and yes, you read it right, this is the only quilt block from this pattern that has it’s own fun name! This little guy was named by the granddaughter of one of my pattern testers, (and one of our own QAL members!), Melissa. When she told me a three year old had excitedly declared this was a boy fox and his name was Freddy, who was I to argue? Freddy is a great name.

Growing up in central Indiana, I would occasionally catch a glimpse of a fox, but it is a rare and exciting sight. The majority of the foxes I’ve seen are gray foxes, although we also have the spectacular red fox. Interestingly enough- the red fox isn’t actually native to Indiana, and is believed to have been introduced by European settlers. The gray fox, on the other hand, is a native Indiana species and smaller in size. I didn’t know this before the time of writing, but the red fox and gray fox are completely separate species and do not cross breed.

Foxes are depicted as intelligent, cunning, wily, and mischievous across almost all cultures. I’ve always found them to look like they have a funny quip they’re keeping to themselves. Cute, floofy, and closer to dogs than cats, they are one of the first creatures I think of when I think of the forests near where I grew up, so no “forest” quilt should be complete without a fox!

I didn’t think outside the fox with my fabric choices, so he’s a traditional orange color, however you can easily make him any variety of colors! My pattern testers were also traditional, sticking to grays and oranges.

This fox pattern is a bit more pieces than we’ve worked with yet, assembling in 10 sections. Here’s the video that walks you through assembly. I forgot to watch the clock on this block, so I don’t have a time estimate for you, but it’s definitely still a single afternoon kind of project.

As promised, here’s the photos courtesy of all of my amazing pattern testers. As you can see, if you’re looking to make a throw pillow, these Stars of the Forest patterns are a great size! (Thank you Nicki!)

Please share photos of your finished block so we can build our quilt along community! #StarsoftheForestQAL #QALforaCause20 #StarsoftheForest

If you are joining after the Quilt Along has already gotten started, you can purchase your copy of this week’s pattern from Etsy or Payhip.

If you enjoyed this post check out the Stars of the Forest – Quilt Along for a Cause 2020 hub!

There are a few tips for you in the video, however having already put out my Learn Foundation Paper Piecing segment I am trying not to repeat myself 30 times each week. If you aren’t sure how to get started, that’s the place to go!

1 thought on “Week #4 – Freddy the Fox – Stars of the Forest QAL for a Cause 2020”

  1. Freddy is my Favourite ❤ I had tears in my eyes reading this. My little girl has gone back home and I wont see her again for almost a year. She is patiently waiting for her Freddy to be made into a pillow for her bed ❤ Thank you Shaley for these great memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment