Week #8 – Raccoon – Stars of the Forest QAL for a Cause 2020

Raccoons are such controversial creatures. If you’ve never met one, they’re delightful, adorable, intelligent critters worthy of any woodland themed quilt. If you’ve ever met them, especially the ones who’ve lost their fear of humans, you’ll probably not love this cute little mammal so much.

I have a friend who’s family actually raised an orphan raccoon they found- it never did stop biting, hissing, scratching, and acting generally ungrateful for the food and warmth (and attempted friendship) her family gave. (I do have to say I do not condone raising orphan animals, and had I known her at the time I would have recommended she call the DNR for an appropriate rehabilitator.)

So, although they’re not pets, they are definitely still too adorable to be excluded, so without further ado- the Raccoon Portrait!

Here are some photos (Huge thanks to all of my stupendous pattern testers!)

Please share photos of your finished block so we can build our quilt along community! #StarsoftheForestQAL #QALforaCause20 #StarsoftheForest

If you are joining after the Quilt Along has already gotten started, you can purchase your copy of this week’s pattern from Etsy.

If you enjoyed this post check out the Stars of the Forest – Quilt Along for a Cause 2020 hub!

There are a few tips for you in the video, however having already put out my Learn Foundation Paper Piecing segment I am trying not to repeat myself 30 times each week. If you aren’t sure how to get started, that’s the place to go!

Leave a comment